Gary Craig Motorsport Photography

Fermanagh man Garry Jennings scored a start to finish win on last Saturday’s Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally. Co-driven by Michael Moran in his Subaru Impreza WRC, this was Jennings’

fourth consecutive victory on the event. Banbridge man Kenny McKinstry, also in Subaru, kept the pressure on Jennings throughout theeight short sharp special stages. Eleven times a winner over

the years and dubbed ‘King of the Park’, McKinstry had no answer to Jennings’ stunning speed. Even a collision with a 6th stage straw bale did not make too much of a dent in Jennings’ lead. A

smoky, low oil pressure engine didn’t slow his progress either. Former Irish Tarmac and National Rally Champion Declan Boyle, co-driven by his cousin Brian Boyle, made the trip to Lurgan from

Lettermacaward in North-West Donegal and, although a comparative stranger to the specialised nature of the Lurgan Park lanes, gave the rally a real good go and finished an impressive 3rd in his

Fiesta WRC. There was particular interest in the 2wd category, and Armagh man Damian Toner in his Escort, who won the Loughgall Rally earlier this year, took the honours against very strong

opposition. Keith White and Frank Kelly, also in Escorts, were 2nd and 3rd in the 2 wheel drive race, but despite much wheel spinning in the at times slippy conditions, could make no impression on

the flying Toner. There was a chance that Shane McGirr in his rear wheel drive Starlet could upset the Escort apple cart, but Fivemiletown man McGirr was forced to call it a day two stages before the

end when his Starlet blew a head gasket. Once again the rally, now in its 37th year in Lurgan Park, attracted a large crowd of spectators, undeterred by changeable weather conditions. The event ran

on schedule and without incident and the Park remained in pristine condition. The event is supported by the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and organised by the

North Armagh Motor Club Ltd.

Top Ten Finishers:-

1st (1) Garry Jennings/Michael Moran (Impreza WRC) 15mins 55.6secs

2nd (2) Kenny McKinstry/Noel Orr (Impreza WRC) 16mins 09.5secs

3rd (3) Declan Boyle/Brian Boyle (Fiesta WRC) 16mis 17.8secs

4th (5) Derek McGeehan/Laurie Smyth (Mini WRC) 16mins 27.4secs

5th (4) Derek McGarrity/Diarmuid Falvey (Fiesta WRC) 16mins 32.6sec

6th (8) Stuart Biggerstaff/Fraser Mulholland (Impreza WRC) 16mins 33.1secs

7th (12) Robert Woodside/Rachel Robinson (Fiesta R5) 16mins 50.2secs

8th (7) Pat O’Connell/Adam Coffey (Lancer) 16mins 50.3secs

9th (18) Damian Toner/Thomas Treanor (Escort) 16mins 53.6secs

10th (9) Ray Brammer/Mo Downey (Impreza WRC) 17mins 07.4secs

Class Winners:-

CL2 Alan Smyth/Richard Kinloch (Suzuki Swift S1600)

CL3 Martin Teggart/Arnold Lutton (Ford Escort Mk2)

CL4 Damian Toner/Thomas Treanor (Ford Escort Mk2)

CL5 Robert Woodside/Rachel Robinson (Ford Fiesta R5)

CL6 Garry Jennings/Michael Moran (Subaru Impreza S12b)

CL7 Stephen Mawhinney/Nigel Magee (Sunbeam Lotus)

CL8 Drew Wylie/Barbara English (Ford Escort RS1800)

Issued by Patterson Agency Ltd – 00 44 28 90 844111.



Filed Under: Lurgan Park Rally News


About the Author